Health & Physical Education at Bellevue School

Health and Physical Education are taught within the classroom programme. In health and physical education, the focus is on the well-being of the students themselves, of other people, and of society through learning in health-related and movement contexts.

As they develop resilience and a sense of personal and social responsibility, they are increasingly able to take responsibility for themselves and contribute to the well-being of those around them, of their communities, of their environments (including natural environments), and of the wider society. (The New Zealand Curriculum page 22)

Four underlying and interdependent concepts are at the heart of this learning area:

  1. Hauora – a Māori philosophy of well-being that includes the dimensions taha wairua, taha hinengaro, taha tinana, and taha whānau, each one influencing and supporting the others.
  2. Attitudes and values – a positive, responsible attitude on the part of students to their own well-being; respect, care, and concern for other people and the environment; and a sense of social justice.
  3. The socio-ecological perspective – a way of viewing and understanding the interrelationships that exist between the individual, others, and society.
  4. Health promotion – a process that helps to develop and maintain supportive physical and emotional environments and that involves students in personal and collective action.


The learning activities in health and physical education arise from the integration of the four concepts above, the following four strands and seven key areas of learning. Students show knowledge, understandings, skills and attitudes:

  1. For maintaining and enhancing personal well being and physical development. (Personal Health and Physical Development)
  2. For regular participation in enjoyable and beneficial physical activity (Movement Concepts and Motor Skills)
  3. That help to enhance their relationships with others, (Relationships with Other People)
  4. That contribute to healthy communities by taking responsible and critical action. (Healthy Communities and Environments)

The seven key areas of learning are:

  1. Mental health
  2. Sexuality education
  3. Food and nutrition
  4. Body care and physical safety
  5. Physical activity
  6. Sport studies
  7. Outdoor education

Sexuality Education:

The kinds of things your child will learn in sexuality education will be appropriate for her or his age.
At Bellevue School this key area involves learning about friendships, different kinds of families and respect for each other and people who are different from them.

Specific Programmes and Resources used in the delivery of the Health curriculum are shared with the Parent community by each team. Parents are also welcome to contact teachers to find out more information at any time.